Racer X Virtual Trainer

SPAM HAS KILLED THE INTERNET. email me if you want to register for the forum. Tim@racerxonline.com
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

PLEASE, since this is an expert forum, only post a response to your OWN topic.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:46 pm 

Hi there,

I am experiencing Thoracic Outlet Sydrome symptoms after I have broken my collarbone. There is a little bit of history and it goes something like this:

April 28/08: Broke left collarbone, went to emergency, got a sling and went home.

Healing process seemed fine and I started riding again about 2 months later. Around 3 months into it, I was doing a " Seated High Row" excercise at the gym, and felt something get triggered, not painful at the time but I knew something had happened. After that workout is when the TOS symptoms started to appear: trouble keeping arm elevated (elbows up on the bike), loss of hand strength, pain and tingling down my arm, poor circulation (my arm would fill with blood).

Sept 2008: Went to the doctor about it, and he said give it time. So I did massage therapy and tried various excercises over the following 18 months or so and it improved a bit but not much.

April 2010: I went to another doctor and was referred to an Ortho Surgeon who said it was a non-union and needed to have surgery and a plate put in.

June 2011: Had the surgery and all went well. Was in a sling for almost 6 weeks, felt great. Started using the arm a bit, and still felt great; no sign of any problem